About Us

M4K Richmond improves the quality of life for local children through individual fundraising, partnering with local charities and businesses, and having a little bit of fun with facial hair.

M4K Richmond, Inc. is a volunteer-run organization that was founded in 2003 with the goal of raising money for local children’s charities while having fun growing mustaches.

Inspired by the National Mustaches for Kids chapters in California and NYC, two Richmond-area philanthropic geniuses took a leap of faith and grew their first mustache.  After being spiritually and piously enlightened by the magic of 1) having a mustache and 2) helping children’s charities; the pair began their annual campaign to relentlessly recruit Growers and brand the M4K Richmond organization.

In the beginning there was a small group of less than 10 Growers with limited mustache growing potential.  Membership has grown each year with over 350 Growers sporting sweet mustaches during this past growing session.  In 2010 M4K Richmond was incorporated and received recognition as an official 501(c)3 non profit public charity by the IRS.

Through the years, M4K Richmond has enlisted the efforts of thousands of brave Growers who collectively have raised over $4,500,000 for Richmond based children’s charities such as The Children's Hospital Foundation, Greater Richmond SCAN, The ASK Childhood Cancer Foundation, Feed More, and more.

M4K Richmond
2023 Board of Directors


Chair - Graham Lloyd

Vice Chair - Willie Jones

Treasurer - Hunter Marshall

Secretary - Kurt Williams

Member at Large - Tommy Johnstone

Member at Large - Pete Augusterfer

Member at Large - Ben Keefer

Member at Large - Mike Keogh

Member at Large - Mike Jackson

Member at Large - Scott Armstrong

Member at Large - Troy Bower

Board of Trustees

Aaron Breed
John Waters
Dave Hogan
Scott O'Connell
Steve Quattlebaum

Here's how it works: Each year, during the four-week Growing Season spanning November and December, Growers sprout sweet, sweet Mustaches. Per Mustaches for Kids bylaws, they shave their faces, except for the mustache, a minimum of one time per week and solicit donations from friends, family, co-workers, and people in the community. Kind of like getting pledges to run a marathon, without the exertion, cramping, or dehydration. Call it a facial hair marathon.

At the end of the Growing Season, the Growers hold a Mustache Competition called the 'Stache Bash, which is a cross between a beauty pageant, dog show, and police line up. During the Competition, Growers, often in Mustache-enhancing costumes, are put through a test of mind, body, and Mustache and allow their facial hair to be evaluated by an independent panel of judges, and one Mustache is declared to be the "Sweetest.."

Sweetest 'Stache Award Winners


2008 - John "The Wolf" Waters
2009 - Aaron "Dusty" Breed
2010 - Justin Fournier
2011 - Ben "Keefernandez" Keefer
2012 - Steve "Huckleberry" Quattlebaum
2013 - Mike "Finkle" Keogh
2014 - Mike Jackson
2015 - Tommy "Goose" Johnstone
2016 - Pete Augusterfer
2017 - Isaac Wright, Daniel Jones, Graham Lloyd
2018 - Kurt "Woody" Williams
2019 - Hunter "Wiggler" Marshall
2020 - Tyler "The Rock" Cox
2021 - Scott Armstrong

2022 - Troy Bower

2023 - Emmanuel Hansen

Goose Award Winners


2011 - Tommy "Goose" Johnstone
2012 - Tommy "Goose" Johnstone
2013 - Tommy "Goose" Johnstone
2014 - Tommy "Goose" Johnstone
2015 - Daniel Jones & Isaac Wright
2016 - Mike Keogh
2017 - Mike Keogh
2018 - Scott Armstrong
2019 - Ben Keefer
2020 - Tommy "Goose" Johnstone
2021 - Steve Quattlebaum

2022 - Graham Lloyd

2023 - Graham Lloyd

Wolf Award Winners


2012 - Bill Rider & Mike Jackson
2013 - Dr. Tim Bunchman & Hunter Marshall
2014 - Jeff Smidler
2015 - Brian Berkey
2016 - Brian Berkey
2017 - Brian Johnston
2018 - Tyler Cox & Isaac Wright
2019 - Jeff Lighthiser
2020 - Scott Armstrong & Graham Lloyd
2021 - Troy Bower

2022 - Bill Boger & Jeannine Panzera (CASA)

2023 - Shep Roeper & Beyond Boundaries

Rookie of the Year


2012 - Matt Dira & Heath Hyman
2013 - Matt Bitsko & Jeff Turcotte
2014 - Dale Smith & Craig Toalson
2015 - Tim Parent
2016 - Kurt Williams & Graham Lloyd
2017 - Steve Booth & Brian Ely
2018 - Andy Little & Tood Sumser
2019 - Michael Whaley & Frank Martino
2020 - Emmanuel Hansen & Travis Nida
2021 - John Young & Zeph Frankart

2022 - William Byrd, Shep Roeper, Kyle Ratliff, Ben Beach

2023 - Ken Roeper